Sermon at a Free Sale

At one of our community churches, they have a free sale every so often where anyone is welcome to come and ‘shop’.  This morning, when I was browsing around, I was disgusted at the way many were behaving… loudly cursing, being rude, etc… I thought to myself, “geeze, they are on church property, receiving a blessing.  Why must they act like heathens?”  As I continued to ‘rant’ inside my head, God spoke to me.  That still small voice said “are you any better than those?”  Now, THAT stopped me in my track of thought!  He went on… “who do you think My church is supposed to minister too?”  OK, WOW.  “did Christ Jesus hang out with the holier than thou church type, or did He go among and minister to the ‘heathens’?”  And that was all it took.  Hearing my Precious Father gently remind me… enabled me to immediately recognized my sinful thoughts, ask forgiveness and turn from that wicked way.  GOD IS SO GOOD, THANK YOU LORD!  What started out as a simple free shopping trip, ended in a Sermon from God that I pray I never forget!

 

4 thoughts on “Sermon at a Free Sale

  1. Augh! I get reined in like this too! It certainly changes one’s perspective, doesn’t it?

    PS How you been doing? I’ve been kind of hit-and-miss due to a short-term job and now music training. It’s hard to keep all the balls up in the air at once!

    \o/

    • God is GOOD sister!

      I’m doin’ OK… bit sad. My baby girl moved out today… last one of my kiddos to fly the nest. Don’t rightly know what I’ll be doing with my time now, *sigh*, my life has been devoted to raising the Gifts our dear Father gave to me. But, I’m sure as time ticks on, I’ll find some peace.

      Don’t over do it girl… 😉 We are too blessed to be stressed!

      Thanks for stopping by sis! 😀

  2. Reblogged this on Citizen Tom and commented:
    We live as fallen souls in a fallen world. What is our greatest sin? We want to believe ourselves better than those around us, even our Creator. But sometimes a still, small voice reminds us that is not true. Such is the voice TeachX3 heard. Such we all need to hear and take to heart..

    Philippians 2:1-4 New Century Version (NCV)

    2 Does your life in Christ give you strength? Does his love comfort you? Do we share together in the spirit? Do you have mercy and kindness? 2 If so, make me very happy by having the same thoughts, sharing the same love, and having one mind and purpose. 3 When you do things, do not let selfishness or pride be your guide. Instead, be humble and give more honor to others than to yourselves. 4 Do not be interested only in your own life, but be interested in the lives of others.

    Are we even capable of understanding humility? Perhaps. We have been given an example. Click on Philippians 2 and read the verses above in context.

Leave a Reply

