Out with the Old and In with the New!

Back in the winter of ’78 or ’79, can’t quite remember, Illinois had an extreme ice storm.  Power out, completely housebound for many, many days… maybe over a week.  For us kids, man was it fun, but for the adults in our midst, it was work and I’m sure worrisome as well.  While my fellow young-ans and I thought we were ‘camping out’ in our grandmothers kitchen… the adults made sure we stayed warm, fed and safe.  They hung blankets up at the doorways to keep the heat in the one room, they carried water from the well outside to flush the toilets, clean, give us drinks, etc…, they cooked and prepared any type of meal they could with supplies on hand (but remember, this is my grandma’s home, and THAT generation knew how to survive in hard times, so we had good food, most of it all lovingly canned from the summer before!), they kept us warm by the heat of the gas stove and lots of blankets, with lights from the hurricane lamps to play games by!  FUN, FUN, FUN for a kid.  Anyway, when I became a Mommy, I knew I would never want to be caught in a situation where I could not make life easier for my kiddos during an emergency… so, I too, had all the supplies I felt were needed if our creature comforts were ever disrupted.  Which brings me to my “out with the old, in with the new” statement.  I just bought a brand new kerosene space heater!!  I am SO excited, it is ‘new old stock’, meaning it was brand new in it’s box from 1997!  The Lord blessed me tremendously through this purchase… I got it for a fabulously good price and it will be a HUGE benefit to my family, including the furry ones!  Here is the OLD heater, with the critters all appreciating it’s warmth:

Photo02211034

I just set up the NEW one… and hope to have it burning brightly within the next day or so (waiting for it to get cold enough!)

It’s a happy Friday for me, I head out this evening to pick up my GrandBaby Girl who will be hanging with Granny and Grandpa for the weekend!  PLUS there are two Blues games this weekend… WOOOHOOO, LET’S GO BLUES!  My back is really killing me, I am finding it hard not to be angry.  The pain of MS and now the added pain from the spinal arthritis taunts my imagination, I do not want to end up in a wheelchair  *sigh*  But dang it, I’ll be darned if I’m gonna let it steal my JOY.

Happy Friday everyone!  Hope you have a truly fantastic weekend my friends!

Leave a Reply

